Home Page


The Saints’ Way MAT is committed to maintaining the unique nature of all of the schools within the Trust and believes this is best achieved by giving a clear mandate to Local Governing Bodies to be the drivers of school improvement. The Trust gives these Local Governing Bodies the freedoms to focus on the challenge and support for the improvements in teaching and learning and the curriculum by ensuring the synergies of belonging to a MAT allow statutory obligations to be dealt with centrally. This, coupled with the defined role of the senior leaders within the schools setting enables the Executive Headteacher and Headteachers to deal exclusively with the day-to-day management of the individual schools; the burden of Finances, Resources and Personnel issues are dealt with by the Principal and the Central Administrative Team. This freedom gives the leader in the school the maximum time and resources to effectively engage with all stakeholders and manage the schools effectively on a day-to-day basis. With a School Improvement Lead working full-time across the schools, this partnership with LGBs, Headteachers and staff strive to provide the best for every child in the Trust.

Welcome to our Governors’ section.

Please find below details of how our Governing body is structured, including the names, categories, responsibilities and terms of appointment for each Governor.
We have also provided a Register of Governor Interests and an Annual Statement of Issues for your information.

The Governors at our school are made up of a number of governors representing St Winnow School and also Lerryn School.  We have a 'joint' governing body.

The governors all have specific roles, with some attending Academy meetings at the Central office in Bodmin.

 Our Chair of Governors is Mr Dez Monks. He is a Foundation Governor and also a Director of The Saints' Way Academy. Mr Monks monitors Literacy.
 Mrs Gemma Joseph is a Parent Governor. She is our Special Needs and Pupil Premium governor, monitoring lessons, progress and looking at books.  Mrs Roz Lee is also a parent governor (at Lerryn) and is our EYFS governor.

Mr Robert Pearce is a Foundation governor. He is our Maths governor. He also attends a number of Director committee meetings.

Mrs Alison Ginty is a Foundation governor. She monitors RE and Collective Worship.

Revd Paul Beynon also monitors RE across the two schools.

Revd Sheila Bawden is our Safeguarding governor.

Mr Richard Hoskins and Mr Mat Blunt are our two Staff Governors.

Mr Shaun Perfect (Hub Lead of the Saints' Way MAT) and Mr Stuart Renshaw (Principal) also attend all governor meetings.


See below for full Member, Director and Governor details.

18.04.17 LGB Final Mins

How to contact a governor

Often the best governor to contact if you have a question, a concern or a complaint, in the first instance is the parent governor as they are usually around at the start or the end of the day. They can suggest who may be best to talk to – it may be the Head of School (if it is a curriculum query or concern) –the chair of governors (if it is a complaint) or the Executive Head (if it is a concern about safeguarding).

The chair of governors can be contacted via each school – letters can always be given to him directly. He also has a dedicated chair of governors email address:

Governors also attend our termly services and special events and so are always happy to answer questions or to help if it is needed.

If you need to speak to a specific governor, then please always ask the school as contact can always be made.

the Saint’s Way